The College of Sciences offers students a scientific education to meet the needs of the 21st century, allowing them to compete for a variety of careers in an increasingly complex and evolving world.

Research Mentors

 
Advisor E-mail Address Office Phone Research Area
Biology  
Dr. Pete Haddix phaddix@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 311B 244-3333 Cell growth, energy and pigment production in the bacterium Serratia marcescens
Dr. Rosine Hall rhall@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 016 244-3739 Forest ecology and plant demographics
Dr. Tim Kroft tkroft@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310P 244-3331 Genetics of fertilization using the nematode C. elegans as a model
Dr. Chelsea Ward cward3@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310E 244-3317 Toad immunology as it relates to environmental stressors
         
Chemistry  
Dr. Steve Arnold sarnold@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310J 244-3328 Ultraviolet-visible absorption and fluorescence spectroscopy
Dr. Greg Ciesielski gciesiel@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 309O
244-3336 Mitochondrial DNA maintenance
Dr. John Hutchison jhutchi4@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 309M 244-3522 Synthesis of natural product derivatives for the discovery of new biologically active compounds
Dr. Daniel Kim dkim@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310H 244-3329 Application of ultrasound in chemical systems
Dr. Randy Russell rrussell@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310D 244-3323 Boundary layer meteorology
Dr. Emma Si
lsi1@aum.edu
Goodwyn Hall 309N
244-3334
Use various analytical instruments to understand the interaction between environmental pollutants and organic compounds.
Dr. Nick Thomas nthomas@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310I 244-3327 Synthesis of organometallic complexes of Ruthenium
         
Mathematics and Computer Science  
         
Dr. Tianran Chen tchen1@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310A N/A Numerical algebraic geometry with applications in physics and engineering
Dr. Yue Chen ychen5@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310S 244-3261 Homogenization Theory of Partial Differential Equations, Multiscale Analysis, Stability Analysis of Crystal Growth
Dr. Luis Alberto Cueva-Parra lcuevapa@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 310B 244-3321 a) Multi-scale multi-physics modeling and simulation of physical and chemical phenomena. b) High Performance Computing
Dr. Jerome Goddard II jgoddard@aum.edu Goodwyn Hall 213B 244-3023 Population modeling using differential equations
       
Psychology  
Email Dr. Bridgette Harper for information: bharper3@aum.edu